Lavrov: SCO is playing an increasingly important role in international Affairs

Lavrov: SCO is playing an increasingly important role in international Affairs

MOSCOW, July 12. /TASS/. The Shanghai cooperation organization (SCO) must strengthen its strategic role in the formation of a polycentric world order.

This was stated on Thursday Minister of foreign Affairs of Russia Sergey Lavrov on the meeting of Deputy foreign Ministers of the countries – participants of SCO.

“Grateful for the support of the Russian proposal to hold a special meeting to discuss the issues of international activities of the SCO. I think this topic is very relevant, and today’s meeting is timely,” – said Lavrov.

“Given the complicated and multi-directional international processes of the global politics and economy, the SCO has consistently established itself as a dynamically developing regional organization that plays an increasingly important role in international Affairs – said the Russian foreign Minister. Gradual consolidation of this trend has been facilitated new opportunities and perspectives, which opened with the admission of India and Pakistan to full members of the organization.”

“Today at the forefront of the task of strengthening the strategic role of the SCO in support of the objective tendencies of formation of a polycentric world order based on equal and indivisible security, mutual respect and consideration of the interests of all States, commitment to the purposes and principles of the UN Charter and norms of international law”, – stated the Minister.

According to him, it is in this vein are agreed by leaders at the summit in Qingdao in June, the approaches to a wide range of issues of regional and international agenda. “Today’s meeting will give additional impetus to the implementation of the agreements of heads of States, our work on foreign policy direction and to enhance the weight and strengthen the authority of the SCO on international arena,” Lavrov said.

The Declaration on creation of SCO was signed in Shanghai in June 2001 by six States: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. 9 June 2017 full-fledged members of the organization were India and Pakistan. In the work of the Association also take part in the four observer countries (Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia) and six dialogue partners (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka).